Story Medical Board of Directors

Story County Medical Center is governed by a county-elected Board of Directors. These seven people are elected in staggered six-year terms. The board meets monthly to review the operations of Story Medical. They are responsible to the residents of Story County for overseeing a quality health care operation.

The current Board of Directors reside in four different Story County communities from Story City to Collins. They have expertise in business, education, marketing, health care and finance, to name just a few. With their varied expertise, the board listens and learns about issues and opportunities affecting the Medical Center and makes the best decisions for the sustainability of Story Medical.

For more information on the Board or their meetings, please email Jennifer Anderson at with your question or request.

Minutes from past Board meetings

Dave Anderson, Chairman

Nevada, Iowa
Term Expires: 2020

Dave Anderson is is a long-time resident of Nevada and the current president of REC-CHEK, Inc. of Nevada, IA. He founded several software companies serving the banking industry that help community financial institutions improve operational efficiency and gain a competitive edge in the marketplace.

He has been active as a Trustee of the Story County Medical Center Board for over 20 years and is the current Board Chairman.

Liz Hertz, Vice Chair

Nevada, Iowa
Term Expires: 2018

Liz Hertz, recently retired from Burke Corporation in Nevada after working as director of Marketing since 1998. After receiving her bachelor of science degree in dietetics and food science from Iowa State University she went on to complete the masters program in 1995.

She has an extensive healthcare background and has worked in the field for over 30 years, including her employment in Senior Care at Story County Medical Center as a registered dietitian and department head.

Liz resides in Nevada with her husband, Randy. They have three daughters: Gina, Betsy, and Sally. She is an active community member and is involved in the Nevada Rotary Club, Central Iowa Symphony Board and First United Methodist Church of Nevada.


Gaylan Scofield, Secretary/Treasurer

Story City, Iowa
Term Expires: 2016

Gaylan Scofield, Ph.D., received his doctor of philosophy degree from Iowa State University in 1991 in agriculture education.  He has been recognized with the Regents Award for Professional & Scientific Service Award and the College of Agriculture Professional & Scientific Service Award.

Dr. Scofield currently serves as Director of the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer, which is part of the College of Agriculture at Iowa State University.  He provides leadership for the College of Agriculture's distance education program.

Dr. Scofield and his wife currently reside in Story City and have three children.  In the past, he has served as the Story City Public Library Board Chair, as a board member of the Story City Hospital, as a member of the Story City Community Planning Committee, and a local 4-H Leader.


 Sue Crum

Ames, Iowa
Term Expires: 2020

Sue Crum has held positions with ISU Extension; Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.; Crayne, Parkinson and Associates; and Coopers and Lybrand. She also has been self-employed as a consultant, business adviser and leadership coach.

Crum received her bachelor's degree with business and accounting emphasis from Indiana University and participated in the Harvard Executive Education program. In addition, she is a certified public accountant.

Patrick Sheets

Nevada, Iowa
Term Expires: 2018

Patrick Sheets is a Pioneer Seed Pro representative and resides in Nevada with his family. Having lived in Nevada since 1995 with his wife, Jean, and sons, Kelly and Cole, he has been a very active community member.

Sheets is past mayor of Nevada and past Nevada Chamber of Commerce president. He is involved in the First United Methodist Church of Nevada and was instrumental on the SCORE Capital Campaign committee.

James Wright Jr.

Collins, Iowa
Term Expires: 2016

James Wright Jr. is a life-long Story County resident and resides outside of Collins where he owns and operates a family farm with his wife, Sarah, and their son and daughter. Wright has an associate of arts degree in agriculture from DMACC and has taken continuing education classes on a regular basis his entire life. He has expanded his knowledge in electrical work and hazardous waste management and also learned to sail.

Wright has been involved in his community through many organization and boards including Story County Planning and Zoning Commission, Collins Lions Club and the Collins Volunteer Fire Department. He was Board President of the Central Iowa Farm Business Association and then the State of Iowa Farm Business Association .

Nick Johnson

Ames, Iowa
Term Expires: 2016

Nick Johnson is a graduate from the University of Iowa, and the Tippie College of Business. Nick double majored in Business Management & Marketing. Upon graduating from college he moved to Fort Dodge to work at his family owned Ford and Toyota dealership in several different capacities.

Nick moved to Ames in 2012 and became the General Manager and an owner of Ames Ford Lincoln.

He currently serves as Co-chair of the Young Leaders Society Board of Ames and currently serving as a guest lecturer at the Iowa State University College of Business.

Nick has served on other Boards in the past; he served as the Vice President of the state board for the African American Museum of Iowa. He has also been the Publicity Chair of the American Cancer Society Relay for Life Board and served on the Red Cross Board.

He helped start the Ames "Wheels for Work" program with the United Way of Story County offering donated cars to single moms without transportation.

Nick’s business currently is a United Way Pacesetter Company and is proud to be very active in the community. He enjoys golfing in his free time and will be getting married this fall.